Kacey Musgraves’ “Butterflies” Will Make You Flutter


Today (Feb. 23) is the day that Kacey Musgraves is sharing new music. Finally.

The Texas native teased that new music was coming on Instagram saying, “I couldn’t be more excited and proud of the two new songs I’m releasing on FRIDAY!” The long awaited music is finally out. Kacey released two songs, “Space Cowboy” and “Butterflies,” from her upcoming sophomore album, Golden Hour.

“Butterflies,” written by Kacey, tells the story of wondering aimlessly through life until meeting the person that makes her feel that fluttery feeling and also transforms her into a new person. “I was hiding in doubt, ’til you brought me out of my chrysalis / and I came out new,” she sings.

“Now you’re lifting me up, ‘stead of holding me down / Stealing my heart, ‘stead of stealing my crown / Untangled all the strings, round my wings, that were tied / I didn’t know him and I didn’t know me / Cloud nine, was always out of reach / Now I remember what it feels like to fly / You give me butterflies, hmm / You give me butterflies,” Kacey sings in the chorus.

Kacey’s new album, Golden Hour, is set to release on March 30 and is the follow-up to her 2015 sophomore album, Pageant Material.

Golden Hour Track List

  1. “Slow Burn”
  2. “Lonely Weekend”
  3. “Butterflies”
  4. “Oh, What a World”
  5. “Mother”
  6. “Love Is a Wild Thing”
  7. “Space Cowboy”
  8. “Happy & Sad”
  9. “Velvet Elvis”
  10. “Wonder Woman”
  11. “High Horse”
  12. “Golden Hour”
  13. “Rainbow”