7 Questions, Concerns and Got It Rights About the 53rd Annual ACM Awards Nominees


The nominees are set for the 53rd Annual ACM Awards. And like all awards shows– there were some hits and misses.

7 Questions, Concerns and Got It Rights About the 53rd Annual ACM Awards Nominees:


Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean

Garth Brooks

Luke Bryan

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Though each of these men are deserving of this nomination, it’s pretty absurd that Miranda Lambert or hell, even Kelsea Ballerini isn’t nominated here. I mean, any lady would do. Or why not Little Big Town? They at least have a couple of ladies in the group.



Male Vocalist of the Year

Jason Aldean

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Chris Young

This is huge for Chris Young, but leaves out Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton. If this is supposed to be an actual vocalist category, why Thomas Rhett? And why not Brett Eldredge?



Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line


Tim McGraw & Faith Hill

Who decided that Tim McGraw and Faith Hill are a duo now? Sony? Management? And who nominated them as a duo? They are not a duo, they released an album of duets.



Song of the Year (Award goes to Songwriter/Artist)

“Body Like a Back Road” – Sam Hunt – (Songwriters: Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)

“Female” – Keith Urban – (Songwriters: Ross Copperman, Nicolle Galyon, Shane McAnally)

“Tin Man” – Miranda Lambert – (Songwriters: Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall)

“Whiskey and You” – Chris Stapleton – (Songwriters: Lee Thomas Miller, Chris Stapleton)

Why are there only four songs in this category? Why is “Whiskey and You” nominated? I’m all for Chris Stapleton as the biggest name in country music, but we’re literally just giving him awards these days. Stapleton is good– one of the best, but that song was on his Traveller album– from 2015.



Single Record of the Year (Award goes to the Artist)

“Better Man” – Little Big Town

“Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt

“Broken Halos” – Chris Stapleton

“Drinkin’ Problem – Midland

“I’ll Name The Dogs” – Blake Shelton

Okay, again with Chris Stapleton. Single of Year awards usually go to songs that were commercially and critically successful. I love “Broken Halos,” but I never heard it on the radio.



Vocal Event of the Year

“Craving You” – Thomas Rhett feat. Maren Morris

“Dear Hate” – Maren Morris feat. Vince Gill

“Funny (How Time Slips Away)” – Glen Campbell and Willie Nelson

“The Fighter” – Keith Urban feat. Carrie Underwood

“What Ifs” – Kane Brown feat. Lauren Alaina

So, since Tim and Faith are a duo now, they can’t get a nod for Vocal Event of the Year? This is just confusing.



Songwriter of the Year

Rhett Akins

Ashley Gorley

Hillary Lindsey

Shane McAnally

Josh Osborne

This award is relatively new, but Lori McKenna was the first female to win it last year and Hillary Lindsey should be at the top of the list to win it this year. Nicolle Galyon probably should be on this list, too.

The 53rd Annual ACM Awards when they air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 15, 2018 at 8:00 p.m. ET on CBS.