8 Females Who Have Walked Away as ACM Entertainer of the Year


In 51-year history of the ACM Awards, only eight women have walked away with the Entertainer of the Year trophy. Two of those women were repeat winners, with the award going home to a lady 10 years out of 51. The only difference in the female ACM Entertainer of the Year winners to the female CMA Entertainer of the Year winners is Carrie Underwood, who took the trophy home twice in 2008 and 2009. She’s also the only female nominated this year.

8 Females Who Have Walked Away as ACM Entertainer of the Year:

1975 // Loretta Lynn

Loretta was the first female to win ACM Entertainer of the Year and was the Artist of the Decade for 1970s. She has 13 total ACM Awards.

1977 // Dolly Parton

Dolly has seven ACM Awards and has also hosted the show.

1980 // Barbara Mandrell

Barbara was also awarded with the Pioneer Award from the ACMs in 2001.

1994 // Reba McEntire

Reba has won 13 ACM Awards and has won the most Female Vocalist of the Year trophies.

1999 // Shania Twain

Shania has four ACM Awards and 16 nominations.

2000 // Dixie Chicks

The Dixie Chicks have won nine ACM Awards, including the prestigious Triple Crown Award in 2001.

2008 and 2009 // Carrie Underwood

Carrie was the first repeat female winner of the trophy. In 2014 she was awarded the Gene Weed Special Achievement Awards from the Academy of Country Music. She is also the first person to win the ACM Lifting Lives Gary Haber Award, which recognizes a country music artist or industry professional “who is committed to serving others, has a generosity of spirit and shows a dedication to helping those in need.”

2010 and 2011 // Taylor Swift

Taylor has eight ACM Awards, including the 50th Anniversary Milestone Award.