Country Stars React to ACM Nominations


it was a big morning in country music with Reba McEntire announcing this year’s ACM Awards nominees during a live broadcast of “CBS This Morning.” And while some country artists were still happily snoozing in their beds when the news broke, thus not yet reacting, others were quick on their socials to express their excitement.

Jake Owen was absolutely overjoyed to learn his song, “Down to the Honky Tonk” had been nominated for “Single of the Year.” On vacation with his daughter, Pearl,” he tweeted, “Holy guacamole … I just woke up with my little girl laying on my shoulder to find out about this! Life can’t get much better. Thanks so much to my team and fans out there! Wow. I’m seriously so excited.”

“New Female Artist” nominee Carly Pearce’s excitement was palpable as she shared a delighted photo of herself and tweeted, “PRETTY SURE ALL OF LA JUST HEARD ME SCREAM!!!!! @ACMawards #ACMAwards

Obviously humbled, Dan + Shay shared their deep gratitude, saying, “SIX NOMINATIONS.  wow, thank you @ACMawards and all the voting members for making us feel loved this morning.  additionally, thank you country music for giving us a home to tell our stories and chase our childhood dreams.  we are forever grateful for your support.”

Singer-songwriter Cole Swindell is always quick to thank the songwriters for any recognition he gets and an ACM nomination was no exception. “I can’t thank the songwriters and the @ACMAwards enough for the honor of being included in the Song of the Year category. So proud of this song and everyone who helped bring it to life. #BreakUpInTheEnd @jessiejodillon #JonNite #ChaseMcGill,” he wrote.

Lindsay Ell, also a “New Female Artist” nominee almost seemed at a loss for words. She simply tweeted, “Woah. Thank you @ACMawards!! I am so grateful… honored….and SO EXCITED!!!!!”

Brothers Osborne raked in four nominations, and their tweet seemed to express astonishment with gratitude. “4 @ACMawards nominations. Unreal. Beyond grateful. Love y’all,” they wrote.   

Newcomer Jimmie Allen had a gracious post regarding his nod in the New Male Artist category. He tweeted, “Last year I watched the @ACMawards from the the nose bleeds section wearing a suit I couldn’t afford. This year I’m nominated alongside some of my favorite artists for New Male Artist of The Year. Thank you to everyone who took the time to vote for me. I appreciate you so much.”

Lady Antebellum could win an ACM Award for the most hilarious expression of gratitude. Tweeting from an airplane in route to the San Antonio Rodeo, the band’s Dave Haywood was at a loss for words.

Noticeably absent from this year’s nominees is Kelsea Ballerini, who released “I Hate Love Songs” during the eligibility period. Shortly after the nominations were released, the successful young star tweeted, “Wow,” but the tweet has since been deleted. It is uncertain as to whether or not that was in response to the glaring omission of her name or something else.

Kelsea Ballerini Twitter