Americana Music Honors & Awards 2016 Winners

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

The Americana Music Honors & Awards were recently held in Nashville at the legendary Ryman auditorium with Jason Isbell and Chris Stapleton taking home the evening’s biggest prizes.

George Strait was on hand to honor Jim Lauderdale, where he performed “King of Broken Hearts” from the Pure Country soundtrack.

Americana Music Honors & Awards 2016 Winners:

Album of the Year: Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb

Artist of the Year: Chris Stapleton

Group/Duo of the Year: Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell

Song of the Year: “24 Frames,” Jason Isbell

Emerging Artist of the Year: Margo Price

Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins

Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center: Billy Bragg

Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Shawn Colvin

Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: William Bell

Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Bob Weir

Lifetime Achievement Award, WagonMaster: Jim Lauderdale

President’s Award: Woody Guthrie