Cyndi Lauper Releases Track Listing for New Country Album ‘Detour’


Pop superstar Cyndi Lauper has taken an unexpected, but very welcome, detour into the realm of country music. In her upcoming album Detour, the GRAMMY, Emmy and Tony award-winning singer-songwriter puts her signature spin on a dozen classic country songs.

Detour perfectly showcases Cyndi’s unmistakable and unique voice on country classics from the ‘40s, ‘50s and ‘60s and features collaborations with county music legend like Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss and Willie Nelson.

Cyndi says that recording a country album is something she has dreamed about for years. Some of her fondest memories from her childhood include sitting in her Aunt Gracie’s kitchen listening to classic country legends such as Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn, and Wanda Jackson.

“When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to. These songs are part of some of my earliest memories so it has been an absolute thrill to revisit them,” she said in a press release.

From what we’ve heard so far, Cyndi sounds right at home in the country music world.


Detour Track Listing:

  1. “Funnel Of Love”
  2. “Detour” – Featuring Emmylou Harris
  3. “Misty Blue”
  4. “Walkin’ After Midnight”
  5. “Heartaches By The Number”
  6. “The End Of The World”
  7. “Night Life” – Featuring Willie Nelson
  8. “Begging To You”
  9. “You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly” – Featuring Vince Gill
  10. “I Fall To Pieces”
  11. “I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart” – Featuring Jewel
  12. “Hard Candy Christmas” – Featuring Alison Krauss

Image Source: Chapman Baehler, Webster