Dierks Bentley Reveals More Details From Upcoming Album, ‘The Mountain’

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Dierks Bentley has been revealing pieces of his upcoming album,The Mountain, featuring his current single “Woman, Amen.”  The Arizona native has now revealed the track listing, the cover art and the release date for his latest offering.

Trading in the bright lights of Nashville for the tranquility of Colorado, the 42-year-old father of three found a certain peace to unleash his creativity.

Being out in the midst of the Rocky mountains of Colorado had a large affect on Dierks. While playing at Bluegrass festival in Telluride, the “Drunk on a Plane” singer took in his surroundings and found serenity. The result, The Mountains, Dierks’ second studio album out June 8.

“I found myself there, constantly reaching for my guitar,” Bentley said. “It was like a gravitational pull. That town and those people just make you want to be creative, I couldn’t describe it. I was like ‘How do I tell everyone in Nashville this is what I want to write about?’ I realized I couldn’t bring it back, so I had to take everyone out there.”

Dierks made the move our West. He took along songwriters Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart and Arturo Buenahora Jr to the recording studio, coincidentally called, Studio in the Clouds.  The 13-track project, finds Dierks co-writing 10 of the 13 songs. It features Brothers Osborne, Brandi Carlile as well as musicians Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas and Tim O’Brien.

“For me it’s the best of both worlds, and it feels like something new. It’s powerful but also happy, with acoustic sensibility mixed in with the big sounds I like to have for the road,” Bentley added. “They are the songs I’d play for somebody to say, ‘This is who I am right now.’”

Dierks Bentley album cover The Mountain

THE MOUNTAIN Track Listing:

1. “Burning Man” (Feat. Brothers Osborne)

2. “The Mountain” 

3. “Living”

4. “Woman, Amen”

5. “You Can’t Bring Me Down”

6. “Nothing On But The Stars”

7. “Goodbye In Telluride”

8. “My Religion”

9. “One Way”

10. “Son Of The Sun”

11. “Stranger To Myself”

12. “Travelin’ Light” (Feat. Brandi Carlile)

13. “How I’m Going Out”