Jason Aldean Announces New Album With Four New Songs [Listen]

Jason Aldean new album with four new songs
Photo by Tammie Arroyo / AFF-USA.com

It was an exciting day for Jason Aldean fans. The country music superstar, who just scored his 21st single with “Rearview Town,” announced that he’ll have a brand new album before the year is up, and he gave fans four new songs as a preview.

[RELATED: Jason Aldean’s Wife Brittany Gives Glimpse Into Palatial New Home in Progress]

The new collection is titled, simply, 9 in homage to his baseball jersey. “Early on I always thought if we ever got to make nine albums I’m going to call it 9. It was my baseball number growing up, and it’s just kind of always been my lucky number,” he says. “I remember cutting the first album and thinking ‘that’s forever away,’ and now here we are.”

The four songs from the record, available on streaming services include:

“We Back” – the first single from the album and quintessential Jason. Full of rockin’ grit and Southern gravy. If Jason doesn’t open his live concerts with his hard-hitting and well-crafted jam, it’s a bona fide sin.

“Blame It On You” – Jason has always given us heartbreak with complete and utter honesty, while still retaining that slack-jawed swagger that defines his sound. In “Blame It On You,” he points the finger of blame back at himself.

“I Don’t Drink Any More” – slow and aching, these heartbreaker leaves a bit up to the listener’s interpretation. Does he drink too much? Or does he just drink too much for her? The line, “I didn’t want her to go, and it’s not that I don’t give a damn. I just want someone to want me for who I am and this is who I am.” Ouch!

“Keep It Small Town” – Jason doing what Jason does best – paying homage to the small towns and rural communities that made him who he is and where many of his fans reside. Full of pride and heart.

Fans can pre-order 9 from digital retail outlets now.