Josh Turner to Release Gospel Album, “I Serve A Savior”


Josh Turner will return with a new album titled I Serve A Savior on Oct. 26. The follow-up to his 2017 release, Deep South, the gospel project will include hand-picked hymns from the singer, brand-new originals, as well as live recordings of Josh’s previous hits “Me and God” and “Long Black Train.”

“My faith is the most important thing to me,” Josh says in a statement. “I want people to hear the sentiment and heart behind this record. I want them to feel the same inspiration that I felt. I want them to feel that and hopefully they’ll make these songs a part of their life.”

Josh Turner album cover I serve a savior

The 12-track album also includes a song called “The River (of Happiness)” which was penned by Josh’s wife, Jennifer, and their oldest son, Hampton. The couple’s four sons all sing on the track.

“It’s an uplifting song,” Josh explains. “And having Jennifer and the boys singing on it drives that home.”

In addition to the gospel project, Josh will also release a 90-minute live performance DVD of the songs on the album. It will include an interview with Josh and gospel legend Bill Gaither where the singer discusses his faith, music, family and gospel heritage. A preview of that DVD is below as is the track listing to Josh’s upcoming album.

I Serve A Savior Track Listing:

1. “I Saw The Light” (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
2. “I Pray My Way Out Of Trouble” (Featuring Bobby Osborne)
3. “Great Is Your Faithfulness”
4. “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot”
5. “Without Him”
6. “I Serve A Savior”
7. “”How Great Thou Art” (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
8. “The River (of Happiness)” Featuring the Turner family (Live From Gaither Studios)
9. “Amazing Grace”
10. “Long Black Train” (Live From Gaither Studios)
11. “Doxology”
12. “Me And God” (Live From Gaither Studios)