Kenny Chesney Reveals Motivation Behind New Album, “Songs For the Saints”

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

With the release of his new album, Songs for the Saints, only a week away (July 27), Kenny Chesney is sharing his motivation behind music in a new video.

Posted to his YouTube page, Kenny’s video show’s the singer on the island he loves so much, talking about his new album and the reason he wanted to record it.

“I am thrilled that I can finally share my new album with you, Songs For the Saints,” Kenny says in the video.I wrote this record and recorded it days after Hurricane Irma. This album isn’t about the devastation, it isn’t about the destruction. And it’s important to me that everyone knows that. But what it is about is the people, and their heart and their spirit and the sense of community in these islands. Because those communities and these people make up the Caribbean. It makes up everything I love about it. I love them and this record is for them.”

The 12-track offering, co-produced with longtime producer Buddy Cannon, takes a deep dive into Kenny’s soul and what he experienced after Hurricane Irma hit the Virgin Islands. Kenny, who has a house on St. John, was affected by the tragic event and went above and beyond to help the people who reside on the islands. The Tennessee native started the Love for Love City Foundation, which benefits the victims of the hurricane.

Proceeds from the album will go to the Love for Love City Fund for Virgin Island Relief as the area is still recovering from the devastation from Hurricane Irma in 2017.

Kenny’s Songs For the Saints Track Listing:

1. “Songs for the Saints”
2. “Every Heart”
3. “Get Along”
4. “Pirate Song”
5. “Love for Love City” (with Ziggy Marley)
6. “Ends Of The Earth”
7. “Gulf Moon”
8. “Island Rain”
9. “Trying To Reason With Hurricane Season” (with Jimmy Buffett)
10. “We’re All Here”
11. “Better Boat” (featuring Mindy Smith)