Runaway June Makes the Announcement We’ve Been Waiting For

Runaway June release new debut album Blue Roses
Photo by Tammie Arroyo / AFF-USA.COM

Yee Haw Howdy and Hip Hip Hooray! After waiting what seems like a lifetime, Runaway June has announced the exciting news that they will be releasing their debut album.

[RELATED: Runaway June Goes Back In Time For New Video, “Buy My Own Drinks” [Watch]]

Dropping on June 28, Blue Roses is the highly-anticipated debut full-length studio album from Naomi Cooke, Hannah Mulholland and Jennifer Wayne. Produced by Dan Huff and Ross Copperman, the June release date was intentional for the band.

“The name Runaway June is symbolic of the many pivotal moments in our lives and career that happen in the month of June,” Jennifer says. “It’s only fitting the tour first album comes out in June!”

Hannah explains that their experiences working together as a band helped shape the project. “We really harmonized as a band through songwriting and being gout on the road, so I feel like, through that journey were able to learn more about ourselves as people—as women, as performers, as artists—and figure out what we wanted to say, all of that is reflected in these songs.”

Naomi adds, “The album has many different faces, and it really represents all the sides of who we are.” She also says, “Our songs are deeply country. We aimed to make a compelling record that displays our character, personality and where our heart is. That’s why ‘Blue Roses’ is the title track. It’s a deeply personal song we wrote several years ago, but have kept for something special.”

[RELATED: Carrie Underwood, Runaway June and Maddie & Tae Pay Tribute to Country Women Who Paved the Way [Watch]]

The 10-song collection definitely sounds like something special. In addition to the sassy first single, “Buy My Own Drinks,” the album also has the trio’s cover of Dwight Yoakam’s “Fast as You,” which is a fan favorite in their live shows.

The release of Blue Roses serves as another mile marker in what has been a pretty great year for Runaway June.

Naomi, Hannah, and Jen were tapped as the opening act on Carrie Underwood’s Cry Pretty Tour 360 which is putting them in front of monster crowds and also fortifying the fact that women in country music are a force to be reckoned with. The trio also landed a coveted performance slot on the CMT Awards and appeared at events during CMA Music Festival.

And because too much is never enough when it comes to country music or Runaway June, they also left this little message on Instagram hinting that more news may be coming.

[RELATED: [Listen] Runaway June’s Catchy New Single “Buy My Own Drinks” Will Leave You Feeling Empowered]

The trio of talented singers and songwriters had previously released a self-titled EP in 2018 that included their dreamy single, “Wild West,” so while you’re pre-ordering Blue Roses, you may as well grab a copy of Runaway June, too.

Runaway June’s Blue Roses Album Track Listing:

1. “Head Over Heels”
2. “Buy My Own Drinks”
3. “We Were Rich”
4. “I Know the Way”
5. “Trouble With This Town”
6. “Got Me Where I Want You”
7. “Fast as You”
8. “I Am Too”
9. “Good, Bad & Ugly”
10. “Blue Roses”

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Runaway June (@runawayjuneofficial) on