Thomas Rhett, Sam Hunt and Luke Combs Are Big Country Winners at IHeart Music Awards

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

The iHeart Music awards made their choices Sunday night (March 11) when they aired live from the Forum in Inglewood, California.

Taking the stage were a who’s who of artists including Ed Sheeran, Eminem featuring Kehlani, Cardi B, Bon Jovi, Maroon 5, Camila Cabello, Charlie Puth, and N.E.R.D and G-Eazy.

But it were the country artists that took home awards that caught our interest. Thomas Rhett was the big winner of the night taking home Country Artist of the Year. He found himself up against Blake Shelton, Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt.

TR took to Instagram to thank his fans. “Completely blown away by this award,” TR wrote in his post. “Thank you @iheartradio for your constant support and for naming me Country Artist of the Year during a time filled with so much incredible talent in country music”

Sam Hunt took home Country Song of the Year for “Body Like a Backroad” and Luke Combs walked away with Best New Artist of the Year. Luke beat out newcomers Kane Brown, Lauren Alaina, Jon Pardi and Brett Young.

“Thank you @iheartradio and all my fans! I’m honored to win Best New Country Artist at the #iHeartAwards, Luke wrote in an Instagram post. 

Congratulations to all the winners.

Country Artist of the Year:
Blake Shelton
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Sam Hunt
Thomas Rhett — WINNER

Best New Country Artist:
Brett Young
Jon Pardi
Kane Brown
Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs — WINNER

Country Song of the Year:
“Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt — WINNER
“Dirt On My Boots” – Jon Pardi
“Hurricane” – Luke Combs
“Small Town Boy” – Dustin Lynch
“Unforgettable” – Thomas Rhett

Other winners of the night include:

Song of the Year:
“Despacito” – Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee featuring Justin Bieber
“Shape Of You” – Ed Sheeran — WINNER
“Something Just Like This” – The Chainsmokers and Coldplay
“That’s What I Like” – Bruno Mars
“Wild Thoughts” – DJ Khaled featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller

Female Artist of the Year: 
Alessia Cara​
Taylor Swift — WINNER

Male Artist of the Year:
Bruno Mars
Charlie Puth
Ed Sheeran — WINNER
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd

Best Duo/Group of the Year: 
Imagine Dragons
Maroon 5 — WINNER
Portugal. The Man
The Chainsmokers

Best New Artist:
Cardi B — WINNER
Niall Horan
Luke Combs
Christian Nodal
Judah & the Lion