Universal Announces It’s New “Dark Universe” of Gods and Monsters


Welcome to the age of movie universes. DC and Marvel have created studios to bring their giant spectacular films to the silver screen, each bigger and more interconnected than the last. Long dead franchises like Star Wars, Terminator, and Alien have been revived. You can’t have a stand alone movie without the question of a sequel looming behind it. Now, Universal Studios has tossed their hat into the ring announcing the creation of their “Dark Universe,” a horrifying world of god’s and monsters.

The new series has already signed a wealth of talented A-List stars to fill the most crucial roles: Johnny Depp as the Invisible Man, Javier Bardem as Frankenstein’s monster, Russell Crowe as Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde, and Tom Cruise who may become the Mummy in the upcoming film of the same name.

The announcement of the Dark Universe included plans to release at least eight movies in the coming years:

  1. The Mummy
  2. Bride of Frankenstein
  3. Frankenstein
  4. Dracula: The Complete Legacy Collection
  5. The Invisible Man
  6. The Wolf Man
  7. The Phantom of the Opera
  8. Creature from the Black Lagoon

“The Mummy,” releases June 9 across the country. “Bride of Frankenstein” is slated to release in 2019.