7 Reasons the Carolinas are Home to NASCAR


North Carolina is the home to NASCAR. Ever wonder why? Correlation may not be causation, but you can’t argue with the reasons below.

7. Almost all of the NASCAR teams are based in North Carolina, and most of those are based near Charlotte. And most of those drivers live in ginourmous houses on Lake Norman.

6. The origins of stock car racing are in the Appalachian mountains of North Carolina. During Prohibition, drivers modified their vehicles to be lighter and faster, and to handle better at high speeds on twisty mountain roads. After Prohibition ended, careers made of evading the law transferred to generations of racing vehicles on tracks.

5. Those scenes in “Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby” that were supposedly set at Texas Motor Speedway? Yeah, they were actually filmed at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Extra bit of trivia: Will Ferrell’s parents are also North Carolina natives.

4. Guess where the NASCAR Speedpark and Family Fun Center are located. Yup. North Carolina. Concord, to be exact.

3. Some of the most recognizable names in NASCAR all hail from North Carolina: Dale Earnhardt, Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Dale Jarrett, Richard Petty, Kyle Petty, Junior Johnson, Scott Riggs, and Rick Hendrick all hail from North Carolina.

2. When Emily Maynard was on “The Bachelorette,” they moved filming from California to the Charlotte, North Carolina area so Maynard could remain close to her daughter, Ricki. Ricki’s father is the late Ricky Hendrick, son of the aforementioned Rick Hendrick, who owns Rick Hendrick Motorsports in Concord, North Carolina.

1. The NASCAR Hall of Fame is Charlotte, North Carolina and they prove NASCAR runs on the power of its fans. On Saturday, January 31, 2015 is Fan Appreciation Day at the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Admission is free from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET and fans will have the opportunity see and meet some of their favorite drivers including Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Junior Johnson. Members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame will be invited to the “Junior Johnson Midnight Moon Shine & Sign” party where Class of 2015 inductees will receive their Lifetime Membership Awards. 

Image Source: BigStock