Cyndi Lauper’s First Country Music Video for “Funnel of Love”

Cyndi Lauper is doing this country music thing and she’s doing it for real– not like other rock legends who want to dangle their feet in the deep, rich waters of the genre.

Lauper just released her first country music video for “Funnel of Love,” her take on Wanda Jackson’s classic from 1961. Throughout the tune and the video, Lauper stays true to her roots while artfully paying attention to the genre and those that came before her. It’s not straight country and western music and it’s not a pop song trying to be country.

The video does feature Lauper in a cowboy hat, cactus and a tumbleweed.

Get More:

Lauper’s upcoming album, due out May 6, is the icon putting her signature spin on a dozen classic country songs.

Detour Complete Track Listing:

  1. “Funnel Of Love”
  2. “Detour” – Featuring Emmylou Harris
  3. “Misty Blue”
  4. “Walkin’ After Midnight”
  5. “Heartaches By The Number”
  6. “The End Of The World”
  7. “Night Life” – Featuring Willie Nelson
  8. “Begging To You”
  9. “You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly” – Featuring Vince Gill
  10. “I Fall To Pieces”
  11. “I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart” – Featuring Jewel
  12. “Hard Candy Christmas” – Featuring Alison Krauss